Cling Wrap, Anyone?

4 02 2011

At my second weekly chemo session with Kristi Rugh Kahl by my side. She’s my driver and she promised me dinner afterwards — I’m thinking Italian!

Kristi also had to help me apply the lidocaine cream to my port area, then cover it with Cling Wrap — this is seriously what the hospital advised I do before coming in for Round Two!

Wearing Cling Wrap definitely dashes any hope I ever had of looking cool at chemo.

But hey, if it works, I’m all about it. Tuesday’s needle prick sans lidocaine cream was unpleasant, to say the least.

Today I get just one infusion — the PARP Inhibitor, AKA, magic elixir. We should be able to blow this popsicle stand in an hour or so.

I am feeling pretty good today. Wednesday was tough, Thursday a bit easier, today even more so. Looking forward to a great weekend and 75th birthday celebration for my mother-in-law at our house, pizza, sledding. The PARP has fewer side effects so I don’t expect I will be sick after this infusion. Yay! One week in the bag…

Actions

Information

11 responses

4 02 2011
kristi

Italian! We had that last week after we left here! Tonight it’s … I guess we’ll see where we end up!

4 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

We ended up at BDs Mongolian BBQ. Kristi and I both pondered how amazing it is that I can walk out of chemo and into a restaurant and no one’s the wiser. It’s so weird. Sort of surreal. Thank you, Kristi Lynn, for taking such good care of me today! Love you!

4 02 2011
Bob Adams

I’d still vote for your chicken pot pie and almond salad.

4 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Don’t forget the mandarin oranges. Remember I made Don make a special trip to the store for those?

4 02 2011
Gale Maleskey

The direct skin contact with the Cling wrap is not a good idea, in my opinion. There are chemicals in the plastic that are estrogenic mimics and they can migrate into your bloodstream.

4 02 2011
Ken Peters

What time is the party? I love pizza and 75 years olds are youngsters to me.

4 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

If you can get here from Florida, Ken, you’re welcome! 3 p.m.!

4 02 2011
Chelsea L.

You go!

4 02 2011
Kelly

Enjoy your family this weekend! I’ll be thinkin of ya!
Kel

4 02 2011
Janice

You are a saint. You are in my prayers and I think about you daily. Keep strong and positive.

5 02 2011
Jacquelyn Lynn Clement

This made me think of the book from back in (I think) the 70s, “The Total Woman.” The author recommended that women greet their husbands at the door wearing nothing but Saran Wrap. Somehow I think my husband would find that more funny than sexy …

You don’t have to *look* cool to *be* cool … you’re cool, Cling wrap or not!

Leave a Reply

