View from my Washing Machine

13 02 2011

I crept downstairs in the middle of the night to answer a craving when I overheard a conversation. It was coming from our laundry room.

I stopped, frozen in my tracks, ready to high-tail it back upstairs to get Don and his gun, when I realized I wasn’t in any danger.

The voices were coming from my washer and dryer.

They’re a stackable unit, Maytag Neptune, great at getting our clothes clean and back in service. This I know.

But the talking part? That’s new to me.

“The woman of the house,” I heard the washer saying. “She’s sick again.”

“What?” from my dryer. “No way. It’s been almost five years. The doctors said she was home free.”

“I’m telling you. She’s sick again. The clothes are piling up.”

“That happens. She’s a busy wife and Mom. She’s got a five-year-old little boy. You know how much laundry he makes!”

“I know. But this is different. It’s not just the piles of laundry. It’s the people. There are people coming in to help. Friends, neighbors, relatives. They’re washing, drying, folding. Carrying baskets in and out of here.”

“How do you know?” my dryer asks.

“You always forget about my front-load window to the world,” my washer says with an exasperated gasp.

“Oh yeah. There’s that.”

There was a long pause, a good 30 seconds of silence. I thought they were done.

I was about to sneak off with my piece of Impossible Coconut Pie when I heard my dryer whisper. Not so much to his mate as to the universe.

“I hope she is going to be OK.”

There was another long pause, then, softly, from the washer:

“She will be. She’s a fighter. She’s going to be OK.”

“How will we know when she’s better?”

“We’ll know when she’s the one loading us again. That’s when we’ll know.”

“I hope that’s soon.”

“Me too. I miss her.”

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

14 responses

13 02 2011
Amy

Wow… That’s all I can say

13 02 2011
candace kaloger

what a great encouragement. to know we are missed.

13 02 2011
Juergen

Wonderful stories, wonderful blog, wonderful friend! Keep going, Amy, we love you!!!

13 02 2011
Mark Robertson

I’m so relieved that you’re NOT Stephen King. 🙂

13 02 2011
Paul

What a beautiful post. I was listening to Gershwin’s “Someone to Watch Over Me” while reading it!

Paul

13 02 2011
Karen

you will be washing again soon!!!

13 02 2011
Claire

Hugs and strength to you:)

13 02 2011
Bob Adams

I know it was said before, but “WOW”, again.

13 02 2011
Rebecca @ Unexplained X2

Love this…what a unique point of view on such a crap situation. Hang in there, Mama…

13 02 2011
Henri Russell

Hang in there…the washer and dryer are right. You will be back loading them again before you know it. Wonderful imagination. Great blog.

13 02 2011
Lindsey

Just wanted to let you know…this weekend, while I was at Boyne Mountain, the girls and I went in from boarding to warm up by the fire. My friend, Jessi, asked me to finish reading your blogs to her, so I continued about half way through all of them, where we had left off the night before. By the time I finished, there were at least 15 people, in addition to my 9 ladies, listening and laughing! I think that “Amy’s Army” can absolutely reach 5,000 followers. The documentation of your journey is fantastic, heart warming and beautifully written! Love you, Cuz-o!

14 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

You just warmed MY heart! Love you, too, Linds!

14 02 2011
Roni Kinsella

Truly touching you are brave!

14 02 2011
Marnie

Terrific, creative post. I’m doing my laundry right now and must say that my washer and dryer are nowhere as sensitive and loyal as yours….my washer showed its appreciation for me recently by sending several gallons of water through the floor into the basement..and right into the Christmas ornament boxes (it could have hit the weather resistant suitcases stored nearby, but no, gotta go for the cardboard box with hundreds of tiny items individually wrapped in (very absorbant) paper toweling.) Hee hee

Leave a Reply

