Red, White, and Pink

14 02 2011

Me, holding the Art Bra that I designed and modeled for the Bras for a Cause Event, Royal Oak Music Theatre, September 18, 2010. Photo Credit: Trish Baden MacDonald.

I suppose I couldn’t have picked a better day to make my debut as a regular, weekly blogger for ThePinkFund.org. After all, Valentine’s Day is indeed a holiday that’s all about red, white, and pink.

I met Molly MacDonald, the founder of The Pink Fund and a fellow breast cancer survivor, a few weeks ago. But only after she had tried to reach out to me via e-mail not once, not twice, but three times.

That’s because I knew why she was contacting me. I wasn’t being rude. I was being stubborn.

The Pink Fund is a Michigan-based organization that provides short-term financial assistance to women and men in Michigan who are going through breast cancer treatment.

Molly encouraged me to fill out the application to see if there were some bills The Pink Fund could help us with while I’m in treatment.

At first, I didn’t want to.

“There must be people out there who need this more than me,” I said to her, noting the roof above my head, clothes on my back, and food on my table.

“Maybe,” Molly said. “But that’s not the point. You’ve got to help yourself.”

I thought about what she said and the lesson that Don and I regularly try to convey to our five-year-old son, Theo. “It’s OK to ask for help. Everyone needs a little help sometimes,” we tell him.

If I’m going to talk the talk, I also need to walk the walk. So, I filled out the application.

A few days later, Molly called to let me know that my application had been considered by The Pink Fund Committee, and that they had decided to cover our DTE Energy bill and phone bill for the month of February.

I’m very grateful. Because, even though I continue to work as I’m able, and my hubby continues to work, too, a little help relieves a lot of pressure. It means that if, on the days I’m truly not up to working, I don’t have to. That’s a little thing that is very big.

So, hats off to Molly MacDonald and her team at ThePinkFund.org. Five years ago, when I was first going through breast cancer treatment, they didn’t exist. Now they do.

What a giant leap forward for breast cancer patients and their families.

Check out my first blog post.

And Happy Valentine’s Day!

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

17 responses

14 02 2011
Paul

Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Amy.

14 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Right back at you, Paul! Thank you for all of your amazing support!

14 02 2011
Kate

Happy Valentine’s Day Amy and to the Pink Fund, thank you for all you do helping our family, friends and neighbors during a hard time. Thank you for making it easy to “ask”.

14 02 2011
Sherri

Happy Valentines Day! What a wonderful organization.

14 02 2011
Kristi Rugh Kahl

Happy Valentine’s Day, Amy!! Great to have organizations and friends that can help. And since I know you so well, I know you will pay it forward when you are back on your feet and have won this battle. As the song by John Lennon and Paul McCartney goes, “A little help from my friends” is what we should all do for each other!

14 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

You KNOW I will, Kristi! It’s been a part of my Grand Plan since long before this diagnosis!

14 02 2011
pinkfund

Happy Valentine’s Day to you Amy, and your husband and son.

We love having “a heart for helping others,” and were happy to remove a couple of financial burdens from you this month.

On another note, just to “keep the facts straight Mam,” The Pink Fund began in the summer of 2005 when I was in treatment, and launched formally in October 2006 as The Pink Fund.

We purposely stay a little below the radar, because we do not want to turn women away for lack of funding and to date, we have been able to help every qualified woman who applies for up to 90 days, based on available funding.

Enjoy this day and thanks for sharing the Love.

Molly

14 02 2011
Kelly

Amy, the knowledge and the courage you share is overwhelming. You will fight and bet this!!
I’m sending you love and a big hug on this Valentine’s Day!
Kelly

14 02 2011
brian Murphy

HI AMY, ALL I CAN DO IS SECOND ALL OF THE ABOVE—-AND WISH YOU AND DON AN EXTREMELY HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

14 02 2011
Laura

Happy Valentine’s day to you Amy, and thank goodness there’s a Pink Fund out there. Thanks for all they do to help, even when nobody wants to ask for it. It’s nice to know it’s there. It’s amazing to see so many people willing to offer their services, their homes, their time, their food, and anything else they can offer.

Pay it Forward lives on!

14 02 2011
Marnie

Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Don and Theo! Wishing you a day filled with the love of family and friends! Hats off to the Pink Fund – wishing them a wonderful day as well! Enjoy your week off treatment. BIG HUGS

14 02 2011
Carrie, Jim, Logan and Mara

Hi Amy, Don and Theo. Happy Valentine’s Day. That is great news. Good things come to people with “Short Names, Huge Meanings.” Love ya.

14 02 2011
U.B.

AMY,
WILL YOU BE MY VALENTINE?
UNCLE BOB

14 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Uncle Bob,
Of course I will be your Valentine! Today and always! I love you, AND I know how to spell candy: C-A-N-D-Y.
Love,
Amy

14 02 2011
Deborah Ann Peters

Happy Valentine’s Amy. I am new to your blog and I am so inspired by you and your courage. I am praying for you and your family.
Deb Peters
Tauranga, New Zealand
( I did live in Plymouth, Mi. until last year)

14 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Deb,
Thank you for your kind words and especially, for your prayers.
Much love,
Amy

15 02 2011
Sue

Happy Valentine’s Day, Amy!! I’m so glad to hear that the PinkFund can help you out!! Take whatever help you can get!! You need it, too!!

Leave a Reply

