Status Update: I’ve Got Hair!

19 02 2011

It’s Saturday morning, February 19, 2011 and I HAVE HAIR!

I woke up this morning, carefully surveyed my pillow and…(drum roll, please) nothing! Not a strand!

No guarantees here. I may still lose my hair before Tuesday, Day 21 post first chemo dose.

But, every day that goes by, every hour, really, brings me closer to the possibility that I won’t. And, last go-round, my hair loss began on Day 17. That was yesterday.

The sun is shining beneath gorgeous blue skies and I’m off in a little while to get my up-do! I’ve got a wedding to attend!

Tune in tomorrow for pics from the wedding of me, my hubby, and my HAIR!

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

13 responses

19 02 2011
Julie

Good news, Amy! I had a friend who kept her waist-length, thick hair throughout chemo (different cancer, though). We were all astonished (after we learned she hadn’t gone the wig route and found something that matched her current style), but excited for her.

19 02 2011
jennifer nemeth

Hooray!! Enjoy ur up do appointment and what will be a lovely wedding with you AND your hair in it!

19 02 2011
Sherri

Enjoy your wedding and your beautiful locks!

19 02 2011
faith fessenden

fingers crossed for you, Amy

19 02 2011
KRod

Thank you for inviting me to spend a most wonderful morning with you..I hope that you and Don have an amazing time today and may you shine Bright with your freshly polished hands,feet and most of all, your Beautiful Up-Do!!! XOXOXO

19 02 2011
Ellen

Hi Amy…I hope you have a great time at the wedding!

19 02 2011
Elaine

So far so good and great news we will keep our fingers crossed.

19 02 2011
Sue

Whoo Hoo!

19 02 2011
Kimberly Brown

Hi Amy, I have been silently following your story. I am a 3 1/2 yr survivor. I have kept you in my meditations…..and your hair! I so understand….although I was soooo lucky to not have to do chemo, and have not had to experience the hair loss. My Mom had BC 2 years before I did, and I watched as her hair fell out….as she went out in public with her pink suede cowboy hat..(what a hoot!) It now hangs in our gallery as proudly as any piece of art.
Blessed Be little sister….you are an inspiration, and I am sure that any who are following your story are uplifted and hopeful…for themselves, and especially for you.
Kim Brown

19 02 2011
Deborah Ann Peters

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

19 02 2011
brian Murphy

Hair today AND hair tomorrow!

20 02 2011
Sharon Frisch

You and your family are in my prayers, Amy. I hope you enjoyed the wedding!

21 02 2011
Carol Phillips

Great news! I will continue to pray. We will miss you tomorrow in Bible Study but we will be praying.

Leave a Reply

