Snow Day Scramble

21 02 2011

Our chow, D.O.G., braving the snow. Enough said.

I love snow days, except when they fall on Monday, Tuesday or Friday of a chemo week. Like this one.

Sunday morning, 8:30, the meteorologists were predicting a total snow accumulation of 1.3 inches for our area. They were off by a shade. We got 10.

I’m a bit of a weather buff myself — hey, I completed my Sky Warn training through the National Weather Service last Spring and I’m an Official Weather Spotter. I watch the radar. I saw this one coming. I knew.

So, I began making some calls. Snow Day means Theo doesn’t have school means I need to find coverage, as I have a 1:30 p.m. appointment with my oncologist. I’ve learned the hard way that I can’t do these appointments alone. There’s so much information coming in so rapid-fire in the fallout of January’s intense testing schedule that I never know what I’m going to get. Like Forrest Gump and his box of chocolates. Just ask my cousin Christine, who had to pick up the pieces of a sniveling, hysterical me when she came along for the ride to a “routine” appointment — and unexpected test results were in. That was the day I learned I was a Stage 4. Imagine if I’d been alone.

Snow Days — especially those that bring nearly a foot of snow with a quarter inch of ice as frosting on the cake — mean Don is going to be out all night plowing. He plows on the side for extra cash. We need that right now. He has steady commercial accounts that usually take him about four hours total. But after a storm like this, he’s out for 12 or 14 hours. Too much snow for one “push.”

He was supposed to take me to my appointment today. The best laid plans… He left last night at 8:30 p.m. and just came in at 10:30 a.m. He needs his sleep. Those are my direct orders. Because just think of the chaos that would ensue over here should he get sick. I am back on chemo this week. One of us needs to be healthy.

So, I called my friend Shirley. She’s going to take me. I’ll drop Theo off at our neighbor Kathy’s house and he’ll play with her kids. Shirley will pick me up at 12:30. Don is already in bed and trying to get in a “full night’s sleep” in before I get home from the doctor’s later this afternoon.

Snow Day Scramble.

There’s not much that’s easy about being a cancer patient.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 02 2011
Laura

Sorry about your snowy weather up there Amy. I’m not really one for cold weather, and snow would put me over the edge if I had to go out in it. We had a beautiful sunny, warm weekend down here in Florida. Just think, you’ll be here in no time at all to enjoy it! Looking forward to your visit in a few weeks….hang in there, spring has to be right around the corner! Doesn’t it??

21 02 2011
Bob Adams

Snow brings a changed and cheery view, courtesy of Mother Nature. Rest while looking out your windows at the lake. Must be beautiful.

21 02 2011
Kate

Hi Amy –

Just wanted to tell you how much your posts are helping me. My 27-year-old son has PSC, an autoimmune spin-off of Crohn’s disease that is destroying his liver. I don’t need to tell you about the emotional turmoil, the insurance hassles, the energy it takes to keep the fear at bay…

There is much to be grateful for – he has an 80% chance that the disease won’t come back after a transplant, and I was able to move in with him to be his Support System. But dealing with serious illness is HARD. Your posts reassure me that I’m not a wimp when I crumble around the edges a bit.

You are doing more good than you realize, I expect. May it come back to you a gazillionfold!

Trev’s Mama

Leave a Reply

