Status Update: Blech!

23 02 2011

Tuesday was my first day of chemo, Round Two. A “Round of Chemo” for me is defined as two weeks on, one week off.

Tuesdays are the tougher of the two days of the week when I receive infusions, since I receive three drugs on Tuesdays and just one on Friday — the PARP, the one with fewer side-effects. Wednesdays and Thursdays are my worst days, with Wednesdays in the lead by a long shot.

The last two Wednesdays following the Tuesday chemo were tolerable. Today, not so much. I’d describe it as Blech!

Nausea, near vomiting, but not any, as I immediately took the anti-nausea drugs when that feeling washed over me, and stayed on them all day. Unable to eat much of anything — an English muffin, a yogurt, a piece of toast for dinner. Achey, tired, light-headed, cold sweats, my head hurts. Blech!

Tomorrow will be a better day.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 02 2011
Kathy

Yes it will. As mom says, this, too, shall pass. Hang on and rest.

23 02 2011
Paula

In 1990, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I already had some cousins and aunts who died and some who were survivors. I was so frightened. I opted for the mastectomy. Then the rounds of chemo started. The only thing that got me through the bad times were family and friends who were my cheering section. As you see, it has been over 20 years and I made it. Just know that those who love you are your strength. Lean on them. It will benefit you and them.

23 02 2011
Jennifer Wolf

Ummmm… Let’s see, here’s a pearl of wisdom that feels like something my mom, grandma and great-aunt would say (I think it’s best I paraphrase): “If you weren’t feeling so jacked-up, it would probably mean the medicine wasn’t working”.

23 02 2011
Sue

Hang in there! We’re all here cheering for tomorrow to be a better day.

23 02 2011
Karen

I pray for you to have a better day!!!

24 02 2011
Peggy

It was a “dues paying” day. Tomorrow will be lighter and better. I pray it will be filled with peace and joy for you.

24 02 2011
Kris ritter

So happy to read that Cindy Kresge is part of your medical team. She is a wonderful person and a former member of Nardin Park! Prayers are coming your way for a better day.

24 02 2011
winecat

Oh GOD, I remember those days mine were 1 week on, 3 weeks off and sicker than a god for 15 days after each treatment. I’d recover just about the time I had another treatment scheduled. Blech is right!

Leave a Reply

