Status Update: Hair to Stay!

27 02 2011

Yes, I know. It’s nearly a week past The Date. The Date by which, according to my oncologists, my hair would have fallen out, if it was going to. So, I should be in the clear.

Still, the more days I can put between That Date and Now, the more at ease I feel.

This morning, i washed my hair and combed it out in the shower — with my eyes shut. I took a deep breath, then dared open one eye and look down at the drain.

Nothing. Not a single strand of hair.

Nearly a week past The Date. I think I’m good this time around.

Whew. Praise God for all victories, big and small.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

12 responses

27 02 2011
Alison Schwartz

So happy that it looks like you are keeping your beautiful hair Amy. My thoughts are with you every day. I have a seven-year-old with the same name but we call him Teddy and I know you love being with him so much and doing fun things. Wishing you only days of strength and health. Sending a hug.

27 02 2011
Laurie Horn

Yay!!!!!

27 02 2011
MFA Mama

Yaaaaay! I know it’s a small thing in the grand scheme of things, but I’m so glad you get to keep your hair 🙂

27 02 2011
Bob Adams

With all the clamor of prayers from your friends, I kinda wonder if the hair that’s falling out is “up there” rather than “down here”.

27 02 2011
Linda Stanislawski

rejoicing with you in the victories, small and large. I still remember how it felt not to have hair , and while that is sometimes part of the price for the treatments, I am glad that it seems you will be spared that this time 🙂

27 02 2011
Paul Vachon

GREAT to hear, Amy!

27 02 2011
Priscilla Schultz

Keep praising the Lord and it will keep staying. I think this is a big thing. Nothing is too hard for GOD.

28 02 2011
Heather

YAYYYY Amy!! So happy to hear the good news. Except..remember your long blonde wig. I loved that one!

28 02 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Me too! But, alas, I donated that one and the other two I had (Marilyn Monroe and the actual Amy look-alike), a year ago…
Amy

28 02 2011
Laura

That’s great Amy! Now you too can have bad hair days along with the rest of us! I’m so happy for you!!

1 03 2011
Karen

That is GREAT for you girl!!!

3 03 2011
Sara Nickerson

Glad to hear it’s going well for you, Amy! I started chemo for stage II breast cancer in January…all the hair fell out a week after my first treatment, and now I’m heading into my fourth treatment, and what little stubble was left is starting to come out. (My husband is very thin on top, so now we look alike!) Wishing you all the best, and hope to see you at the next Bras for a Cause! (I’m thinking of participating…last year at the time of the show, I was waiting for test results, and was encouraged by all the brave women who were in the show!) Take care!
Sara

Leave a Reply

