Catch a Leprechaun, Get His Gold

17 03 2011

But what to do with all that gold? Buy frogs, of course!


I’ve quickly learned that Theo only likes to talk about school on his terms. Ask him what he did that day, and I’m not likely to get much out of him. But wait for him to decide he wants to talk about it and…

On the ride home the other day, he suddenly blurted out, “Did you know that if you catch a Leprechaun, Mommy, you get his gold?”

“I did know that,” I said. “But where would we find a Leprechaun?”

“At the end of a rainbow, Mommy!” he said in his ‘of course’ voice.

“Well, next time there’s a rainbow, we’ll follow it to the end.”

There was a pause and I could almost hear the wheels turning in his brain as he considered this.

“You know, Mommy, if we caught a Leprechaun and took his gold, we could trade it in for money and then go and buy a new frog!”

“Yes, yes, we could certainly do that,” I agreed.

A few more moments of silence followed, then out of the blue, he added, “Oh, and we also built the Great Wall of China today. Out of Legos.”

Listening to the litany of what Theo’s Kindergarten class had accomplished, I was starting to feel that perhaps my day hadn’t been as productive as I’d thought.

Happy St. Patty’s Day. Grin…

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 03 2011
Meau

Cute.

17 03 2011
Dawn

Too funny! My daughter is also in Kindergarten and has been obsessed with catching a Leprauchan this year – they each made/decorated a trap and everything! I can’t wait to hear what she has to say about it tonight! It’s amazing how different boys and girls can be in terms of what they’d buy with that gold! 🙂

Leave a Reply

