Carrot on a Stick

3 05 2011
A “red” chow puppy. Photo courtesy of http://www.forestwaychows.com.

Yes, this is a photo of an adorable Chow pup. No, it’s not my new Chow.

But it could be. Well, not this very pup. But perhaps one just like it.
 
Don and I had a powwow last night about getting a puppy. It’s not reasonable to get one right now and I know that. My cancer treatments take up too much time and energy to even  make that a rational consideration.
 
But.
 
But we did come up with a reasonable alternative.
 
Everyone needs dreams and goals  to get them through the rough patches in life. Many dreams and goals of all shapes and sizes.
 
One of mine happens to be reddish and fluffy with a black snout.
 
Getting a puppy will be my reward for finishing multiple rounds of chemo and going into remission. I’ve got that to look forward to, to strive toward. My carrot on a stick.
 
Ironically, Chows were the Cover Story of Dog Fancy Magazine recently — and a copy of the story just happened to be sitting in the waiting room at the emergency clinic Sunday evening. Then, as fate would have it, only two Chow breeders were listed — and one happens to be less than a half hour from where we live.
 
Things that make you go hmm…
 
When the day comes, I will be on the  phone with Forestwaychows.com, inquiring about their most recent litter. Then we’ll be off to choose a pup, and we’ll get started on a new beginning…together.
 
Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson
Actions

Information

10 responses

3 05 2011
Kristi Rugh Kahl

LOVE IT !! Makes the future brighter and something to look forward to 🙂 Can’t make to meet him/her in the near future 🙂

3 05 2011
Maureen

Chows ARE

3 05 2011
Maureen

Oops. Chows ARE lovely. Sadie is part Chow, and she really is the most beautiful dog I’ve seen, plus she has a wonderful disposition. Unfortunately as a rescue who knows what happened to her prior to her coming to us, so she DOES have a fear of men. But other than that little issue, I’d have a chow any day. What a great thing to look forward to!

3 05 2011
Danielle Neilson

Love it! I hope you can get your baby chow very soon!

3 05 2011
Pamela

I like the way you think Amy 🙂 Dogs are awesome! I still have my Aunt Pam’s little girl, Tara, and she makes me smile everyday!

3 05 2011
Kate

What an awesome thing to look forward to. They are so precious. Keep looking towards that goal as you go for your treatments. It will give you courage when you need it. (Now if I could just get Jim to consider a dog….)

3 05 2011
Mari

Made me tear-up. What a great goal!

3 05 2011
Rita O'Connor

I WANT ONE TOOOOOO !!!!!! Mom R 🙂

3 05 2011
michelle

I too hope to get another puppy after my surgery. Ours was killed in a dog attack on Mothers Day (I only lost a chunk of my arm). He was a great joy that I am determined to regain. I hope we both get everything we wish for!

5 05 2011
Lori

I’m still thinking blonde!

Leave a Reply

