Just Confirmed: Fox 2 News Will Film on Friday

18 05 2011

Courtesy of Fox 2 News Detroit.

Just spoke with Reporter Amy Lange and confirmed that Fox 2 News Detroit will be filming a piece on me and my family this Friday. Amy and a camera person will be following Don and I to my chemotherapy appointment Friday afternoon. This will be a piece that will not only promote breast cancer awareness overall, but will focus on the possibilty of a diagnosis post double-mastectomy — a possibility too many women are unaware of, as I was before my Stage 4 diagnosis in January.

Too many women mistakenly believe they are “home free” once they’ve gone through a double-mastectomy — and the number of women who are undergoing this procedure has skyrocketed in recent years with the growing availability and popularity of genetic testing. I believe that allowing the media to interview and film my family and tell our story can and will save lives. And that’s always, always the goal.

Though I’ve known this piece was coming, I didn’t know until tonight when it would be filmed. I don’t yet know when it will be aired, but as soon as I have a date and a time, I’ll post it on my blog. For those of you outside of the Fox 2 News Detroit viewing area, I will post a link to the piece on the Fox 2 News website if it’s available.

I’m grateful to Amy Lange and her team at Fox 2 News Detroit for their interest in this story and in educating their viewers.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

15 responses

18 05 2011
jennifer nemeth

Terrific news. Looking forward to seeing you on film.

18 05 2011
Rita O'Connor

Good for you Amy! We will be watching!

18 05 2011
Matt & Sandi Sybert

Amy, we will watch on the web when it gets posted! We love you, miss you, and continue to keep you in our prayers.

18 05 2011
Matt & Sandi Sybert

Amy, we will be watching via the web when it gets posted online. We love you, Don and Theo. We continue to keep you in our prayers daily.

18 05 2011
lucy (meau's friend)

thank you and your family for allowing this experience to be a blessing for others. lucy

18 05 2011
Claire

Great! When you post the link I’ll check it out! Good luck!

18 05 2011
Kim

Great News Amy! God is using you in a wonderful way to help so many others lives! Praise Him 🙂

18 05 2011
pinkfund

Knowledge is power and this will be powerful I am sure . . . . good for you for using your life to help others. . .

18 05 2011
Soapchick

Woohoo. I can’t wait to watch! Fox 2 is great. They filmed my business last summer and it was so much fun. Enjoy it and then see your and God’s work when it airs!

18 05 2011
Deborah Ann Peters

Yeah…..can’t wait to see it via the web………break a leg…well not really….but you now what I mean. This will sure help to educate others like me who have so many questions. Anyway to get the word out there that could possibly save one life is a great thing. You’re the best! xoxo

19 05 2011
Kate

Good for you. If there is one person who can tell her story and tell it in a way that will help so many others, its you. Can’t wait to see it!

19 05 2011
Tracey

That is awesome!!! So many good things can come out of this. Can’t wait to watch it!!!

19 05 2011
susan mettert

God Bless you for helping others.

19 05 2011
Amy Youngblood

That is fantastic news. We will set to tape it as soon as you know when it will air.

19 05 2011
Karen

Yea for your team!! I am so glad your going to get your story out there – you’re such an inspiration to all of us – now others will get the opportunity to have you inspire them as well!! You are so strong and powerful – nothing holds you down!! YOU GO GIRL!!!

Leave a Reply

