Race for the Cure 2011

21 05 2011

Amy's Walking Angels 2011. Photo by Emily P. Sybert.

We couldn’t have asked for a better day and I couldn’t have asked for a better team.

A couple dozen of us made our way through the crowd of thousands as Pink Fund Founder Molly MacDonald shot the pistol to start the 5k Run. Teams walking the 5k or the One Mile fell in step behind the runners.

For once, I took my sister Julie’s advice. I turned around at the One Mile Marker. I suppose a mile isn’t too shabby for a girl who had chemo twice this week and two Neupogen shots to boot. “Do the One Mile and you’ll still get the whole experience,” she told me last night after I got home from chemo.

I wasn’t convinced at first. I wanted to do the whole 5k. I’ve always done the whole 5k, even in 2006, after I had undergone a double mastectomy and Round 1 of chemo.

But when I hit the One Mile Marker, I knew. To keep going, well, that would have been foolish. There will be other years. My body needs all of the reserves it can muster.

Julie was right. I got to do the important part — be there in front of Comerica Park, surrounded by thousands of people on a mission to End It — alongside my friends and family. Shades of pink stretched as far as the eye could see under the bright blue canopy of a brilliant Spring morning.

As we made our way back to the parking deck, I heard a group rapping on one of the many stages. “Survivors. You are Survivors. Survivors. Never forget. You are Survivors.”

I let those words and that beat stay with me the rest of the day.

Special thanks to Team Captain Mollie Finch — who has organized Amy’s Walking Angels since my first diagnosis in 2006.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 05 2011
Lori

Jules was absolutely correct! I am so proud of you! You heard her and you listened! (novel concept!) YEA! You do need those reserves. Love you…

31 05 2011
Sylvia Ellis

God Bless you Amy. Let me introduce you to a man who knows your every situation. His name is JESUS. He is your Jehovah-Rapha, your healer. He will be to you whatever you need Him to be; your strength your protection and your peace, etc. When I saw your story on the news today it really encouraged me to write this to you to let you know to keep on keeping on in Jesus name because the Lord is with you every step of the way. Just know that “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) You have a purpose in life and God is using you as a voice to others who are experiencing a similar situation. I am praying with you. Grace and peace be unto you . Love Sylvia

Leave a Reply

