In Search of The Pink Lady

24 05 2011

This is an open letter to the lady with the bright pink, glittery hair that my husband met by the poolside at Disney’s Caribbean Beach Resort the week before last. The Pink Lady, as my family has nicknamed you.

You were there celebrating four years in remission from Stage 4 cancer, from the same tumor type that I’m now fighting. You’re me, four years into the future, and I want to find you. I want to talk to you.

My husband says that you told him only that you are from Pennsylvania, and that you travel to the Caribbean Beach Resort every May to celebrate your victory over breast cancer. That’s all he learned about who you are. But he did give you my blog address.

So, if you are reading this, please let me know. I want to chat with you. I want to learn how I can do everything possible to follow in your footsteps. Who knows? Maybe I’ll even meet you myself sometime, at the Caribbean Beach, when we’re both celebrating remission.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 05 2011
Teresa

I know the resort is large, but someone there would know who the Pink Lady is if she always comes in May every year. Maybe they would forward your information to her so she could contact you. I would keep trying the resort until you talk to someone who can help you. Good luck…..

24 05 2011
Crystal

ditto what Teresa said. that was my immediate thought. lifting it up.

Leave a Reply

