Yup, That’s My Ride

24 05 2011

Me looking cool in a BMW. Photo by Michelle Hicks.

There’s nothing perky or fun or giddy about going to the infusion center for my twice-weekly chemo cocktail.

But no one said getting there couldn’t be way cool and exhilirating.

Today, I arrived in style. Just check out this BMW Z-4 in cherry red. Yep, that’s my ride. At least, it was for today.

My friend and chemo bud Michelle Hicks surprised me by picking me up in her convertible. We drove to and from chemo with the top down, our blonde hair blowing in the wind on a beautiful, sunny Spring day. We even threw in a stop at Olga’s Kitchen along the way — for a pair of those delicious orange coolers.

I may have to do chemo. But no one said I couldn’t do it in style.

I’m home now. My wind-blown hair is a tangled mess. I think I’ll keep it that way for a little while. I kinda like it.

Thank you, Michelle. It’s always a wild ride when you’re in the driver’s seat.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

10 responses

24 05 2011
Rita P

Way fun! I love how you find the JOY wherever it is.
Best to U!

24 05 2011
Julie

Sweeeeeet.

24 05 2011
Jennifer Wolf

Way to set me and the red Outlook up as a huge disappointment for Thursday. If it’s not raining, I’ll open the sunroof for you. And maybe…just maybe, I will clean the Panera bag, pretzels and empty packs of gum from the passenger seat. And I might stop and get ya a Slurpee.

24 05 2011
Michelle Hicks

I’m glad it was such a beautiful day Amy…and that you were feeling up to having the top down! Until our next chemo day together…

24 05 2011
Cathy Carey

What a stylin’ way to hit chemo!

25 05 2011
Craig Dumas

Way cool Amy!

25 05 2011
Craig Dumas

Waaay cool Amy! Doin it in style!

25 05 2011
Alice CFW

That was the perfect day for it! Way to go!!!

25 05 2011
michelle

Way to go girl! Thank you-you’re optimism is contagious!

25 05 2011
Amy Rauch Neilson

Michelle! Exactly my intention! Glad it worked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

