Status: Chemo Bound

14 06 2011

On my way to chemo today for the beginning of Round 7. It sounds like a boxing match and really, it is one.

My bff Jennifer Voisin Murray is picking me up. We go all the way back to junior high.

We are stopping for breakfast on the way. Hey, if I gotta do this, I might as well enjoy my friend and eat a ham and cheese omelette on the way!

Theo wanted me to take him to school this morning. I explained that I couldn’t; that Jennifer was picking me up as I had to go to the doctor’s today to get medicine. He said, “But I want to be with you tonight.” He knows that chemo often means I am down for the count for the rest of the day, often in the guest bedroom because I feel so horrible.

That’s a chemo translation from the world of a five-year-old.

I promised him that we will be together this evening, and I will make good on that promise.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

10 responses

14 06 2011
Roni Kinsella

You are such a fighter I know you will be with him tonight.
Keep it up. You are amazing!

14 06 2011
oneandahalf

The following was on the signature portion of an email I received moments after I read your status. I thought it was fitting……” You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the things which you think you cannot do.”
– Eleanor Roosevelt

14 06 2011
Kate

You will be there with him tonight….good, bad or ugly, its not the mood you are in, but the fact that you will be with him no matter what the mood. He’ll take it. Keep up the fight. I have to agree with all your friends, you truly are amazing.

14 06 2011
Tracey

Awe, Theo is so sweet!! Maybe it can be an early movie night at home???

14 06 2011
Paul Vachon

Theo sounds like a very special little guy, which isn’t surprising since he comes from very good stock.

Paul

14 06 2011
Alison

You’re a lovely mom. I hope the side effects are minimal today and you can enjoy your evening with your little man. Sending you good vibes.

14 06 2011
amy

Amy – he is such a sweet little guy and so in love with you – even if you just hold his hand and stay with him a little while – he’ll be so happy!

14 06 2011
Jennifer Voisin Murray

Aim-it was so nice to share the day with you. Thank you for showing me all of your(and Theo’s) froggies. I LOVED the tree frogs-and hope to own one soon-we’ll see……It was wonderful spending time with you, laughing, drinking coffee, reminiscing, etc…You are a gem and I love you tons. You keep fighting and staying positive, it will pay off. You will see. xoxoJen

15 06 2011
Anne Noble

Best to you and continued prayers.

17 06 2011
margaret jarose

Hello Amy, from all in the family, Aunt Marg & Uncle Bob, Suzanne, Robert, Kim, Valerie, say hello also, keeping track of your progress. So glad you have a network of super good friends, helps with Theo, and Donnie, all of this support. Have you heard if Natalie & Blake’s new addition has arrived yet? We’re all anxiously awaiting the good news.

Leave a Reply

