Status Update: One More Chemo Round is History

22 09 2011

Today was the fourth infusion of my typical two-week chemotherapy cycle — two weeks on, one week off. I have lost count of what # chemo round this was. So many infusions since I started chemo back on Feb. 1. So many chemicals that just make me so sick.

This was one of the more difficult weeks for me to tolerate physically, and I’m just glad it is over with. I’m now off until the next round begins Oct. 4. I have three Neopogen shots to get through in the next three days, so I’ll need to manage the bone pain that comes along with them. But I will. I’ve done it before. I’ll do it again.

Off to bed to sleep the worst part of this day off. Looking forward to many Happy Squares between now and the next round — including a day-long school field trip to a local apple orchard with Theo, who is snuggled in next to me right now and snoring softly. I won’t be far behind him.

As my Dad used to say, “Things always look better in the morning, after a good night’s sleep.” Amen to that.

Copyright 2011, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

9 responses

22 09 2011
Laura Kasischke

Sleep tight, Amy. Thinking of you, and a little prayer before bed for Theo, too. xo

22 09 2011
Kristi Kahl

Your dad was a very smart man! Sleep tight….don’t let the bed bugs bite 😉

22 09 2011
Alison

Hope you and your Teddy have a wonderful restorative sleep, and wishing the coming weeks are easier than you anticipate with the treatment………fingers crossed for minimal bone pain.

23 09 2011
Zoo

Peazzzzzze

23 09 2011
Maija Kibens

Amy, I saw this quote that sums up your wisdom. Yay for you and the Irish!

“A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.”
-Irish Proverb

23 09 2011
Rita O'Connor

From Mom Reet…I’m so glad you keep us posted of your progress Amy, and that’s what it is…progress. You are one strong lady, and Donnie is a gem.Theo of course, is precious Theo.

You and Mary are in my prayers daily and often, so hang in there and enjoy the good bits and pieces of each day. That’s life…the good and bad and joy and worry but God is always there to help us through. Give it all to Him, and this hard time becomes a prayer. Love always…Mom R

23 09 2011
Trish

Hi Amy,
I am hoping this email gets to you. I did not realize I had the address until a couple days ago so Im not sure if its still good. (fingers crossed!) Anyhow I just wanted to say hello and let you know you are in my thoughts on almost a daily basis, I heard about the cancer returning and I also found out about your blog so recently Ive been reading your amazing posts, and truly people do get concerned when you dont post for a while, I was one of those people! I feel compelled to tell you in my heart of hearts I believe this terribly awful disease is not going to take you from your family, your friends, or from this world. You have more life, love, energy and spark in you than anyone I know, sick or not! You reach so many and help them in more ways than you can imagine. You are an amazing example of a human being, and what a strong woman should be for your son and I know he will be so proud that you are his mother. I only hope that someday I can show my son half of what you have done. Donny deserves the world in a wife and he has and then some! You are destined to be around for many, many reasons my dear and I have no doubt otherwise!
I have been meaning to call but you know how that goes sometimes, I have a bit of a whirlwind of things happening at once it seems, but who dosent!?! None-the-less, I wanted you to know you, Donny and Theo are in my thoughts and prayers, and if there i ANYTHING in the least I could help with please dont hesitate to ask!

Trish

26 09 2011
Sharon

One could only hope to have the strength, determination and positive attitude that IS you. I look forward to Monday and your updates. Keep on KEEPING ON!

29 09 2011
Kris

Your dad was a wise man (and a good one) hope that you had a good night’s rest.

Leave a Reply

