And Radiation Kicks My Butt

21 01 2012

I somehow was under the impression that radiation was a piece of cake compared to chemotherapy. I was wrong.

I did five days of double doses last week to try to destroy the marble-sized lesion on my right hip. That would ease my pain and help me to regain mobility. The double doses helped me to get through the process faster so I can get back on chemo without too much delay.

I AM moving better already, and the Dr said I will see improvements for up to 8 weeks. But I’m also dealing with side effects that I didn’t realize would knock me off my feet. There’s nausea, major loss of appetite (nothing is appealing and I’ve lost 7 pounds in a week), and fatigue.

I haven’t been able to do much of anything today besides rest. And truly, I’m so very frustrated and upset. I am sick and tired of being sick and tired. I want the old me back. I want to be outside, building a snowman with Don and Theo after last night’s fresh, powdery snowfall. I want to go out to dinner tonite to celebrate my brother-in-law’s birthday. I don’t know when, but I do know, the sooner, the better.

Copyright 2012, Amy Rauch Neilson

Actions

Information

16 responses

21 01 2012
Maureen

Aw, Amy, I’m so sorry. What a pain in so many ways. But you WILL kick it back, and soon, I hope. In the meantime, just rest and recover. Some more. Love you.

21 01 2012
Mark Robertson

Save your strength, Amy. As packing snow goes, this batch is over rated. You should feel better soon (voice of experience with rampaging particle beams and parents in the same seat as you.) In the end, the treatments turned out to be very effective for my Dad. But his butt was kicked too for a few days.

21 01 2012
Amy Rauch Neilson

Thank you for the words of encouragement, Mark. It really helps to know when you’re feeling crummy that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

21 01 2012
rita

Amy – I finished radiation in July. I was also under the impression that it would be a piece of cake, especially after chemo and surgery. I did 6 weeks of radiation. At first I walked everyday but by the end I could hardly get in my car and drive there!!! I was so totally exhausted. I had radiation in the morning and I learned not to eat until after radiation, not that that will help you now!! Do know it will get better, and should be quickly. You should start feeling stronger and stronger daily, but it will take a little while to get all the way back to par. Good luck and sorry you are going through this. Cancer sucks!!!!! Rita

21 01 2012
kerri daugherty

Amy hang in there. You will be back soon. Don an theo are lucky. They have a snow Angel all year around. Smile and think of the cruise 🙂

21 01 2012
jennifer

Radiation was way worse for my mom than chemo was, too. The good thing was that it was more like recovering from a nasty flu bug, and once she felt better, she felt BETTER! Sending my love, my dear friend.

21 01 2012
Deb Peters

I hate to hear that you are suffering from this, but it does sound like from the others who have had experience with this, that you should be feeling stronger and better each day. I pray that this is the case for you. Rest now and prepare yourself for the cruise. There will be more snow and other opportunities for you to play in the snow. Love and hugs….

21 01 2012
Teresa Phillips

Never forget that God is carrying you through all of this. In Jesus name…

21 01 2012
Kristi Kahl

Sending love and hugs! Let’s plan to run a 5K this fall! We will both do it and have something to look forward to. The jack rabbit in u will be back but in the meantime hibernate to rejuvenate! I see fun in the sun in the near future! Xoxo

21 01 2012
Debbie V

I am so sorry that you have to go through this, hopefully the remainder will go fast and you will start to feel better soon. Praying for you. Debbie V.

21 01 2012
Chelsea

You will do all those things, Amy. And, hey: Another session down.

21 01 2012
Maija Kibens

Love & hugs and vibes, Amy. You have almost done it, the very next best steps. More power to you!

22 01 2012
cookie

Hi Amy,
I am sorry to hear that you are going thru this. I have not had radiation so I can’t tell you from my own experience how it feels, but my prayers are with you to get you thru all of this.
Get some rest and you have your cruise to look forward to.
As for the snow, you can keep it. Had it for many many years and don’t want it any more. Will keep the sunshine here.
As always in my thoughts.
cookie

22 01 2012
Kimberly Brown

Amy, my Mom had radiation, and it kicked her butt as well. She found the key to eating was to stay bland, strong flavors were a no no. So, lot’s of broth, crackers, and good vitamins to hold her over until her appetite returned. I agree with the others that once she started to feel better, it was an amazing recovery…..every day was so much better than the last. There will be more snow to build snowmen with. I hope you are able to sit and color with Theo, and read to him. When I was going through treatment, my grandsons and I made up a story and every day we would add to it. My daughter wrote our story…..and sometimes even now, the boys want to add more to it.
You are always in my thoughts and meditations…
Blessed Be my dear

22 01 2012
Marnie

Hang in there honey. It is tough on you that is for sure…but the one positive is that is it incredibly tough on those renegade cells. I hope the worst is over and everyday shows a little improvement. I love you.

25 01 2012
Meredith from FLX

Thinking of you, Amy. Sending warm and healing thoughts your way. Keep the updates coming.

Leave a Reply

