Our Angel Amy

6 05 2012

Today, May 6, 2012 at 3:15pm, our extraordinary, amazing Amy traded in her Earthly wings for Angel wings.  She was in the comfort of her own home and was surrounded by loved ones.  Amy fought long and hard to battle this awful disease and she handled herself with magnificent beauty and poise.   She filled her home with love and laughter.  She touched so many people in her own unique way with an impact that will last a lifetime.  Amy will live on through each of us and though she is gone, she will never be forgotten. 

As some of you may recall reading Amy’s post from May 30, 2011 – “The Miracle of Cardinal Red When I’m Blue”, several of us witnessed first hand today the miracle of her story.  A beautiful, red cardinal perched himself on a branch in the tree just outside her bedroom window.  Without saying a word, we knew her Dad was there to help guide her to her new journey – the next chapter in her life.  Amy has been reunited with her mom and dad and many other loved ones.  Our loss today is truly Heaven’s gain. 

Funeral arrangements are being made and will be shared soon.

In lieu of flowers, a 529 College Education Fund has been established for Amy and Don’s son Theodore.  As most of you know, education is high on Amy’s list of accomplishments.  She received her Master of Arts Degree in 2008, and delivered an incredible speech to her graduating class.  Amy made a difference.

Click link to make a donation to Theo’s College Fund via Paypal

If you would like to donate to Theo’s college fund, checks can be made payable to:

Amy Rauch Neilson Benefit

PO Box 580

Milford, MI  48381

Thank you all for your love and support.  Amy was one of a kind and will be greatly missed.

Actions

Information

75 responses

6 05 2012
CaroG87

Oh my stars…… I only “knew” Amy from her writings, and wouldn’t have known about her except that a friend recommended this blog. My heart goes out to all those who knew and loved her dearly, and especially her beautiful boys…… many prayers for you all, and I will add her name whenever I do my breast cancer walks.

6 05 2012
juliesturgeon

Thank you for sharing this hard news when there are a million other emotions and arrangements swirling around.

6 05 2012
Leslie Lang

Oh no. I am so very sorry that she had to go. My most sincere condolences to her family and dear friends.

6 05 2012
Melinda Beattie

My thoughts and prayers are with Don, Theo and the rest of the family. Amy was the most wonderful person and will be missed by all.

6 05 2012
Joyce Hawkins

I never really knew Amy but through her blog for the past year. I was thinking about her for the past couple of days. Just received this blog in my e-mail and a got a sick, hot feeling in my stomach when I heard the news.

My heart goes out to her family. She and her family will be in my prayers.

6 05 2012
Sarah Maurer

I have been so inspired by Amy’s writing and am deeply saddened to hear about her passing. Thinking of her husband, son and many friends and loved ones during this difficult time.

6 05 2012
Carol Samples

It was so wonderful of you, Amy, to let us know you better over these past months. My heart goes out to your family. You have been absolutely amazing! Thank you!

6 05 2012
Paul Vachon

Amy will be in all our hearts–always.

6 05 2012
Cuz

Nicely done Kristi – I was there and saw the cardinal – You said it well. I thank you and have huge respect for your love for Aimers. XXOO

6 05 2012
Carol

Even having never met Amy she enriched my life with her many insights and stories. My heart is breaking for her earthly family and friends, even though I know she is in heaven now with others who love her as well. Praying for Don, Theo, her extended family and all her dear friends who will miss her greatly. May God comfort you all and grant you peace.

6 05 2012
Jessica Beesley

Her voice will never be forgotten – it lives through her words. Praying for the family and the many, many friends.

6 05 2012
Peggy Sharp

I am so sorry to hear the sad news. She will be missed. The family is in my thoughts and prayers

6 05 2012
Lisa Serda-Ansel

As a mother my heart aches for Theo now that his mother is gone. But I know that she is watching over him from Heaven and will always be by his side, just in spirit form. My prayers also go out to Don and the rest of her family and friends. May God comfort them all at this difficult time.

6 05 2012
layla831

Love lives on and knows no boundries. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.
We loved Amy too.

6 05 2012
Nicole Rollet

We love you Amy and will miss your infectious laugh. You are the reason I use a hand masher to make mashed potatoes…you said” they just weren’t the same if they weren’t hand mashed.” You always threw the best parties and brought the family together in many ways for many occasions. Rest in peace..

6 05 2012
Kelly

Our thoughts and prayers are going out to Amy’s family this evening. I have only known Amy through her written words but she touched my life! What an incredible person she was – full of strength and courage – and love for her family and friends. Amy, this evening I pray that you are sitting beside angels and feeling at peace and without pain. I believe that Amy will be watching over her family and her friends. God bless.

6 05 2012
Laura

Today, after I heard the news, I scrolled down Amy’s facebook page to see what the last status update she wrote herself was. If I’m right, it was in February, and it was: GOING HOME!!!!!
She seems like the kind of woman who would have left such a message for her loved ones. I wish I’d had many more years to get to know her the way her many close friends have. What an incredible woman. My heart breaks for Theo, but what gift to have had such a mother, to come from such a lineage. Please, God, and Amy, watch over that little boy.

6 05 2012
dee dee

A friend asked me via FB to follow Amy’s blog a while ago. I was struck by her bravery and positive outlook throughout her ordeal. Please give her family my deepest sympathy for their terrible loss.

6 05 2012
mareyeka

God bless Amy.

6 05 2012
alison

So very, very sad to hear the news. Amy was such an inspiration and through her writing will be missed by so many people who never even got the chance to meet her in person. Poor Don and Theo. Thinking of them and all Amy’s family and sending love.

6 05 2012
happygoluckytireegal

I’m so sad and do sorry. Amy, though I never met you, you touched and inspired me. I pray for comfort for Don and Theo and all your close family and friends.

6 05 2012
Kyle Bagnall

Our thoughts and prayers are with Don, Theo, and everyone who is touched by this sad news. Amy will always be a shining spirit and inspiration to so many people and will live in our hearts forever.

6 05 2012
Krys

Absolutely heartbreaking. 😦 I’m keeping Don, Theo, & everyone else who loved Amy in my thoughts. Hers is one of the first blogs I found upon learning I carried a BRCA gene mutation & I couldn’t be more thankful for her strength and beautiful words, even though I didn’t really know her beyond reading her blog.

6 05 2012
Leslie Dietz

I also only knew Amy through this blog and was introduced to her by my cousin in Michigan following my own battle with breast cancer. Praying for Don and Theo and all Amy’s friends and family tonight – praying for God’s peace and comforting presence in your lives. Thanking God for that red cardinal that led Amy home safely to her Heavenly Father’s arms where she was reunited with her parents. May God continue to provide you with His peace, comfort and love!

Leslie

6 05 2012
Irish Twins Momma

I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful gift you were given by seeing that cardinal. Lots of hugs and prayers for strength.

6 05 2012
Melissa Shewell Hinson

It is with great sadness that I learned of Amy’s passing. While we never kept in touch after high school, I certainly have been touched and inspired since finding her on facebook and following her blog. I am humbled by her courage and wisdom. The world is richer for her having been here. I am praying for Amy’s loved ones.

7 05 2012
Kristi Kahl

I was blessed to have Amy in my life for 32 years and truly honored to be her friend. She will be missed more than words can say and although I know she’s no longer in pain, I selfishly want her here with us on Earth. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye. Amy accomplished more in 43 years than most do in a lifetime. I’m so proud of her and her strength and courage. She leaves behind a great legacy. Amy, please send us signs along the way…. Love and Miss you! Your bff #5 Kristi

7 05 2012
Juergen

Kristi, thank you very much for being there for Amy and your contributions to her blog in the last weeks so we could follow from the distance what is going on. God’s strength be also with you!
Juergen

7 05 2012
david burton

Kristi what a great friend you are. I remember going to homecoming. Me, Amy, You, and Mike Schnieder. I think we all went in his VW. Peace to you Amy in Gods Kingdom. Hang in there there Kristi. Prayers to you and Amy’s family.

david

7 05 2012
Kristi Kahl

Thanks Dave. It was our first dates as Freshmen with 2 cute Junior guys! I remember that night like it was yesterday. Amy and I often wondered where you ended up. Thanks for the post. My heart is broken and Amy will be greatly missed. Kristi

7 05 2012
Randy Weiser

She was a wonderful person, and a fantastic teacher. I will always remember the insanity that was her English class with a fond heart. I will TRULY miss her!!!! My condolences to Theo and her family during this time of sorrow, but she will always be remembered for her fierce struggle and her warm heart!!!!

7 05 2012
Dave Hogg

I spent my 40th birthday with her, and we lost her on my 43rd. I’ll never forget either day, and I’ll never forget all of the wonderful moments we had together over the last 25 years.

Rest easy, sweetheart. Theo will never be able to replace you, but know that he will get all of the love and support that we can provide.

7 05 2012
Juergen

Amy, you outstanding woman, we love you und will miss you so very much!
Don, Theo, we are with you, from Germany at least in our thoughts and prayers (and this coming July, we hope)!
Juergen

7 05 2012
Ann Iezzi

I am so very sorry to hear this sad news. I only knew Amy through her blog & her modeling at “Bras For A Cause.” She passed on Shannon Watson’s birthday. Shannon also fought the same disease (BRCA1) & was taken from us on April 16th, 2010. I know Shannon was there to greet Amy in heaven.

7 05 2012
Wendy

Hugs to Don, little Theo & everyone who will deeply miss Amy.
You will not be forgotten.

7 05 2012
cookie

I also only knew Amy thru her blog and was introduced to her through her mother-in-law and was continually inspired by her love for life, her son and her husband and friends. My prayers go out to her family and friends in that they find peace knowing that she is at peace. She will be truly be missed.

7 05 2012
Sheri Torch

Thanks Kristi for letting the world know how very special Amy was and how her loss has left a huge hole in our hearts. We have known her for 30 years and there will never be someone like her to cross our paths again. Our love, prayers and hearts go to Don, Theo and the rest of her family.

7 05 2012
Demmy Lionas

Amy will live on in all of us. She was so special to share her struggle with the world. Through her blog, many of us came to know her as a friend. May her Memory be Eternal!
My outpouring of sympathy to Don and Theo, and her entire family.
With prayer and blessings to you all,
Demmy Lionas ~ blog follower

7 05 2012
Marie Petrides

To Don , Theo and family and friends. Amy was a woman of great strength and character. Her Blog brought so much comfort to me during some of my most difficult times. I remember reading her words and thinking these are my words and feelings. From the moment that I read her first blog, I became connected to Amy. She will be forever remembered and deeply missed. Rest easy Dear Amy.

7 05 2012
soapchick

I know Amy fought so hard to stay here, she didn’t want to go yet. I hope that someday when Theo grows up he understands what an amazing woman his mother was and how hard she fought to stay with him. She will always be with him, but in a spiritual way now. May he feel her when he spots a red cardinal. Her writings are such a gift as well and her personality shines through and will for eternity. Condolences to Amy’s friends and family.

7 05 2012
Jennifer Bopp Stegbauer

When we were kids, Amy’s Dad was always waiting in his Cadillac to pick her up. Now it’s a gorgeous cardinal. Only the finest of rides for his daughter. Amy was such a great friend.

7 05 2012
Crystal Sims

Sad ears for the loss of a wonderful person. Happy tears knowing that she’s with the Lord and no longer in pain. Will continue to pray for Don and Theo.

7 05 2012
Wynne Brown

I am so, so sorry. I’ve been following Amy through her remarkable blog and have been pulling for her to go home — but not the heavenly one, not yet. May time and love ease the pain for all those who cared for and about her.

7 05 2012
sharon l-s

The only solace is that Amy was able to be at home surrounded by friends and family when she passed. I really love the thought that the red cardinal was her father taking her to heaven where she is also surrounded by friends and family AND is now free of pain. My heart does out to Don and Theo and the rest of Amy’s extended family and friends. Sending soggy hugs and prayers.

7 05 2012
Holly

I was doing a training walk yesterday and I felt really heavy. I was walking alone and my plan was to do a long walk. The first there miles I walked with tears rolling down my cheeks just thinking about Amy and what she means to all of her friends, family and loved ones. I walked 10.2 miles and when I got home I posted the following on my Facebook status “10.2 miles today! Today was for Amy. I know you are fighting hard but know that you have angels everywhere who will take you where you want to go!”. I posted that at exactly 3:15 PM yesterday, Sunday May 6th. I now knoqnwhy I felt compelled to post THAT exact message at THAT exact time. I hope Amy knows how many lives she touched.

7 05 2012
Kristi Kahl

Amy and I always talked about believing in signs. You experienced that first hand. Thanks for sharing your story. Kristi Rugh Kahl

7 05 2012
Kimberly Brown

I don’t know that there can be words to express the sorrow that I feel hearing that Amy has passed over. I do know that she is finally free of pain and worry, and is being embraced by the loved ones waiting for her on the other side. My heart goes out to Theo and Don. Amy has left them with a legacy of strength and love that will carry them into the future.
Blessed Be dearest Amy……..
In light and love

7 05 2012
Michelle Dougherty

I will never again see a cardinal and not think of Amy. God bless you girl! May you finally rest in peace. I will miss your laughter and heart but you will live on in the way I celebrate life, just as you did. You were the best mom and wife. My prayers go out to Don, Theo, Julie, Lisa and the rest of their families.

7 05 2012
Helene Rabinowitz

If one measure of a person’s character is the esteem in which others hold them, then our Dear Amy is in the top of the list. I continue to be so deeply moved by the outpouring of love and regard from Amy’s family, friends and those who only knew her through her written words. Imagine the power of this woman who could touch us on such a deep level. You are so right Kristi, Amy lived her life to the brim in her 43 years, quite honestly more so than some of us in a lifetime. It was only six short weeks ago when Amy said to me,”but I’m not done yet”. While her body could no longer fight on her spirit never diminished, nor will it ever. Her shining soul will remain with us in every thought we have of her, in every story told and retold, in every word we read of hers, and through our love for her two beloved fellows Don and Theo. It is this heartfelt belief that helps ease my pain of no longer having Amy’s presence on this earth. May she be wrapped in the love and protection of her parents and in God’s grace.

7 05 2012
Henri Russell

I also only knew Amy through her writings first through NAIC and then from the start of her Blog. She touched my heart in so many ways through her love for her family and her sense of humor. Don and Theo, you are in my prayers. I feel that I have lost a very close member of my family. She will definitely be missed. I too will always think of Amy when I see a cardinal.

7 05 2012
It Is What It Is

I, too, have only known Amy through this blog which was recommended to me (by whom, I can’t now recall). She always wrote with such hope and deep love that it is impossible to believe that she is gone, that her on-line voice has been silenced, so I can only imagine the real life void that those who had the pleasure to know her will feel in the coming days, weeks, months, and years.

I am sending comforting thoughts out to her husband and young Theo and hope that they feel the collective hug from the Internets.

7 05 2012
Jennifer Fink

God bless you all. I’m a fellow freelance writer (and BRCA mutation carrier) who met Amy on the FLX cruise a few years ago. My thoughts and prayers are with your family as you navigate this tremendous loss.

7 05 2012
brian Murphy

I knew Amy fairly well: she was a student at Oakland Unversity, where I taught, and we did an Indpendent Study together, and we became quite good friends. We shared a love of reading, writing, and a delight in words (as well as tasty lunches and dinners). Right now I am feeling too sad for any words, but I am deeply moved by all the words here from her friends and fans. These comments I find consoling, as I am sure Don does and Theo will. I am certain Amy is invoking blessings on us all.

7 05 2012
Dave Hogg

Brian, you and I knew Amy for the same length of time, and I know that she’d be incredibly proud that her work and her fight inspired so many people.

7 05 2012
Carole

Love and blessings to her and her family. Amy touched me and many, many others. I am so sorry to hear of her passing.

7 05 2012
Amy Youngblood

I am so thankful for Amy’s writings, she encouraged me to journal my own experience and although it will never compare to the likes of Amy’s, I found it to be so comforting once I did start writing. It is a way to connect with others and harness the energy of love that is endless and eternity. What an amazing mother and wife to create such beautiful memories for those that love her. Her spirit lives on!

7 05 2012
Jessica

It was Saturday afternoon that I received her lovely thank you/blessings card. As I was that day, I am praying now for her Don and Theo. May God’s hand be on you today and from now own, that He would give you peace in knowing that Amy is home and free.

7 05 2012
Marcia

Dear Amy,
Dear. Dearest.
Like so many of your followers, I was asked to follow you because of the battle you and others in your family have waged — and because you were such a good writer. I was startled by the first post I read and how much the visual narrative pulled me in to your life and then introduced me to your son Theo, husband Don, family, friends, Doctors, and Team Amy. You described the enemy with such clarity, that I knew you had compiled an arsenal of information to defeat every facet of the disease. I admired your passion to engage the enemy and show the world your courage to stay in the fight in spite of occasional overwhelming fear and pain. I admired your willingness to share the personal fight with others and your giving, engaging spirit. I started following you in weekly digest, but found myself checking in every day. You even provided your followers with inspiration and encouragement. From the comments, photos and guest posts, we can tell you engaged many of us in the colors, texture and fabric of your life: Cardinal Red. Feeling Blue. Favorite Yellow. Your voice will be missed, but not silenced, dearest Amy. Your love for life and for those closest to you is a permanent record etched in our memories. Spiritual. Strong. Loving.
Marcia

7 05 2012
Holly Smith

I did a 10.2 mile training walk yesterday. I started around 11 and felt very heavy. I was crying for about the first three miles of the walk. I was thinking about doing a video blog to explain why I do the 3-day and continue to hound my friends and family for donations. When I completed my walk yesterday I went out to facebook and posted the following

“10.2 miles today! Today was for Amy. I know you are fighting hard but know that you have angels everywhere who will take you where you want to go!”.

I didn’t know why at the time I felt compelled to post this but I did. When I was on my way to work this morning I was reading through my email and read the blog letting me know that Amy had left. The blog noted that Amy left us at 3:15 PM yesterday. I immediately looked at my post from the day before and was awe struck when I noticed the posted time of my message, 3:15 PM yesterday. Amy has touched so many lives and anyone who knew her or read her posts knew that she was special. Gone but never to be forgotten. You will be missed!

7 05 2012
Cathy Carey

I only knew Amy from her blog but her heart and her spirit touched me so. We have the comfort of knowing that Amy is free from her earthly pain.

7 05 2012
Tracy

I don’t have the talent for putting words together like Amy… I only knew her through this blog – but she made an impact on my life that will stay with me for the rest of mine. I was dreading this news since reading the Steel Magnolia guest blog – more than one of Amy’s posts have moved me to tears – but strangely as I was reading it this morning I felt completely at peace -almost lifted emotionally. Her positive energy is palpable. Just as she wrote in her “Miracle of Cardinal Red When I am Blue” post almost exactly one year ago: “reminding me that I am not alone, that there is far more going on all around us at any given moment than we can see or truly absorb”. Amy – I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers, thank you for sharing so much of yourself with us. You made a difference in the world. Which is the most I think any of us can hope to do. You will be missed.

7 05 2012
Rania

May u rest in peace my Angel, you have inpacted my life in such an amazing way and you will continue to be loved and admired…God Bless you and your family

7 05 2012
Michaela

Amy was my mom’s teacher at WCC circa 2001. Mom and I both went to her famous pig-roast that same year – and had a blast! (Though you wouldn’t expect anything else from Amy.) She helped me personally in so many ways as I struggled to find myself at a young age. Though I moved to Boston many years ago – she’s been in my thoughts. When I found out about this cancer challenge, I prayed for her and read this blog every so often. I know she is with God now, looking upon all of us and grinning with her radiant and infectious smile. All I want to say is “Thank you Amy, for having an impact on my life.”

7 05 2012
kerri daugherty

Kristi, that was beautiful. you were right about the cardinal story. Amy i love you and always will. You helped me in a way no one will undertand. I love you and will never forget you.

7 05 2012
Kathy

The world is brighter and more beautiful because of Amy. Thanks for sharing so much of your life with us. May Don and Theo find comfort in knowing just how lucky they are to have this angel watching over them.

7 05 2012
Lynn Collard

God has a new angel for sure and we have a story shared that has truly blessed her readers. Amy will never be forgotten as I continue to Relay for a cure for this awful disease. I will continue to keep her struggle and her amazing way she impacted life in mind. I met Amy only through story as one of her students is my sister in law, Lindsay Kalter-Orehek, and I pray for your families strength as you heal in your grief from this loss. God Bless you.

7 05 2012
Susan Goffeney Sirgany

Sincere condolences to all of Amy’s family and friends. She was an inspiration for many of us who were never blessed to know her personally.
Sue Sirgany

7 05 2012
Jennifer Wolf

I will never forget one particular drive to Beaumont for chemo when I told Amy that she influenced and touched more people than she could possibly imagine. She replied, “Really?” She was as humble as she was passionate, and could never truly understand the amazing impact she had on the lives of those who loved her, and as I read over these comments and beautiful posts, I am sending a big I Told You So right up to heaven to my sweet, beautiful, kind, loving, hysterically funny, brilliant, talented, passionate, driven, gifted, cherished friend. I adore you, sweet Amy, and I will miss you more than words can express.

7 05 2012
Anne K.

So sorry for Don, Theo and family and friends, praying for comfort and peace for you!!

8 05 2012
Bob Adams

Reading all the notes to Amy and family proves what a great influence Amy had on all of us–her family, and her friends. What a tremendous legacy she leaves, this very long list of friends, many of whom she never met. What a positive impact she has had on all who knew her or read her writings. She will be in our minds and hearts forever.

8 05 2012
Megan

Amy has inspired me as I would look forward to reading her beautifully written blogs. Each blog was written with enough heart and soul that made your heart melt and ache at the same time. I always would look forward to reading this blog during the long nights of rocking my son back to sleep. What an amazing mother and wife you are Amy. The fight will never stop. You made a difference.
Step by step
Megan
Luby’s Boobies 3 day for the cure member for life.

8 05 2012
Jennifer Bopp Stegbauer

Amy believes deeply in God, prayer, and Jesus. We had talked about many things along these lines in the last years, sharing our experiences. Starting in January I made a list of Bible verses that I want to try to memorize. Every week of this year I have a different verse on my list. On the day Amy so heartbreakingly passed, here is the Bible verse that I was to memorize:
Colossians 3:2-4
Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.
So I know she is doing well. And when I read all of these replies and see all the effort her best friend Kristi is making, and know what a great father Don is, I know noone will forget Amy, just as was her wish.

8 05 2012
Doreen

After reading of the sad news yesterday morning, I saw a beautiful Cardinal on my way to work, just at the end of my driveway. As a fellow cancer surviver who walked with Amy in the Bra’s for a Cause event, I will think Amy is my angle every time I see a cardinal. Such a loss to loose one of the greatest mom’s in the world! Our prayers to the family and may they find peace in their fond memories of their beautiful Amy.
Doreen

8 05 2012
Carol

I had the pleasure of having Amy in Bible Study with me for a couple of years. She fought the good fight and in life she lived it fully and unto the Lord. As in her death that too she points others to Christ. Thank you to all of Amy’s BFF’s as she calls them for the countless hours of love, and support you gave her, Don and Theo. My prayers go to all of you as you grieve the loss of one so special. Amy is now with Jesus, and in no more pain. Heaven’s gain is great,
as is our loss.

8 05 2012
Sue

It amazes me how much I miss someone I never met in person. Love and comfort to Don, Theo and all of her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

